Yum Hot Dogs!

There are few foods more American than the Hot Dog. Personally, I have never been a big fan of the hot dog. I have been known to partake in the customary ballpark purchase at baseball games, or at summer barbecues, but hot dogs are rarely part of my usual diet.  That is until recently; while living in Phoenix for the summer I have been introduced to a little whole-in-the-wall place called Maui Dog.

Hawaiian inspired, this hot dog joint serves up gourmet creations. Of all the gourmet-trend foods I never would have guess the hot dog would find its way to the list.  Most people are particular about their hot dog toppings, generally some sort of combination of ketchup, mustard, onions, relish, sauerkraut…I like the ketchup-mustard-relish or mustard-onion-sauerkraut combination and if you had asked me a month ago if I wanted coconut on my hot dog I would have been repulsed.

But that was all before I experienced Maui Dog, and now the idea of ketchup, mustard and relish on a hot dog sounds bland/boring. I have been introduced to the idea of chipotle garlic mayo, Maui mustard, coconut shavings, avocado, and bacon topping the All-American hot dog.  The creation is sweet, spicy, salty, savory and oh so yummy. Maui Dog, has ruined me towards my old fashion hot-dog-topping ways and it might be my red-neck roots talking, but all I can say is bring on the gourmet hot dog trend.  I just love it when someone takes a simple food, like the hot dog, and reinvents it.

Oh and I almost forgot – they serve tater tots! in my opinion, not enough places serve tator tots.

3 thoughts on “Yum Hot Dogs!

  1. That looks sooo yummy! And the tater tots, what a perfect touch! Where is this place? Thanks for sharing! I’m new to blogging here and I just love how supportive and creative everyone is! If you have time, could you please check out my blog? http://shecooksandheeats.wordpress.com/ I would love some advice and feedback 🙂

Leave a Reply

